News Research

New International Classification of Diseases (ICD-11) comes into Effect

On 11th February 2022, the World Health Organization’s (WHO) Eleventh Revision of the International Classification of Diseases (ICD-11) came fully into effect.

The ICD provides a common language for health professionals to allow the sharing of standardised information across the world. It is the foundation for identifying health trends and statistics worldwide, containing around 17,000 unique codes for injuries, diseases and causes of death, underpinned by more than 120,000 codable terms.

Nomenclature and classification of illness are vital for recognition and delineation and this is especially so in relation to M.E.

ICD-11 now lists M.E. and CFS as follows –

8E49 Postviral fatigue syndrome



  • chronic fatigue syndrome
  • myalgic encephalomyelitis


ME and CFS are therefore listed separately – note no ME/CFS classification – and under disorders of the nervous system.

Verified by MonsterInsights